Hands down, Lucy Montgomery is one of the most prominent and fan-favored Canadian authors in history. She is a great writer of children's novels and made a huge impact on the genre. Anne of Avonlea is considered to be among her best stories and is equally loved by the kids and the grown-ups.

It first saw the light of day back in 1909 but is still quite popular, thanks to the author's writing brilliance and the exciting slash educating narrative. This is the second novel in the best-selling Anne of Green Gables series that Lucy started in 1908. Anne, the main character of the franchise, is now a teenager - she's 16 years old. By the end of this book, she turns into a woman, an 18-year-old young lady.

Montgomery describes the girl's life at the Avonlea school and all the tiny adventures that she gets herself into. A vast majority of the characters from the original book is present in the second chapter; also, a quite fine line-up of new characters is introduced to bring even more excitement to the story. Mr. Harrison is probably the most...engaging of 'em all - he's Anne's new neighbor, and he's bringing her nothing but trouble.

Anne of Green Gables series
1. Anne of Green Gables
2. Anne of Avonlea
3. Anne of the Island
4. Anne of Windy Poplars
5. Anne's House of Dreams
6. Anne of Ingleside
7. Rainbow Valley
8. Rilla of Ingleside
9. Chronicles of Avonlea
10. Further Chronicles of Avonlea

Oh, and let's not forget the cocky parrot that tends to ruin everything. And then there are the twins, Dora and Davy. Now, while Dora is a well-mannered, nice and kind little girl (almost perfect, in a way), Davy is nothing like her: he's a brat and is constantly getting into all kinds of messy situations. At first, they were meant to stay with Anne's family for a couple of weeks, but then a tragedy forces them to stay permanently...

In our online library, you can download books for free in epub, fb2, mobi, lit, pdf, DjVu formats. You could not download modern and audio books, but the ebooks with expired copyright only