Back in the day, Lucy Montgomery pretty much monopolized the children's novel genre with her best-selling series featuring the brave and valiant young woman, Anne Shirley. As for this book, it was first published in '39, right when WW2 was about to devastate the world. This is the 10th of 11 novels about the fascinating Anne and the author's final book to be published.

The thing is - 2 books that occur much later in the franchise were published way earlier. They say that Lucy was highly inspired by an article in a newspaper about a nice couple that wanted to adopt an orphan boy. However, due to a mistake at the "office", they were sent a girl instead, but they decided that it was fate and kept the kid. That, in combination with Montgomery's own memories and experiences from when she was a child in Prince Edward Island, made up the basis for this book's story.

It starts 7 years after the previous book in the chronology, House of Dreams, and Gil's dad has just passed away. Anne pays a visit to Diana and her kiddo, Anne. The good-old house is now titled Ingleside, and when she enters it, 5 adorable children welcome her with open arms. The eldest is 7 years old - his name is James.

Anne of Green Gables series
1. Anne of Green Gables
2. Anne of Avonlea
3. Anne of the Island
4. Anne of Windy Poplars
5. Anne's House of Dreams
6. Anne of Ingleside
7. Rainbow Valley
8. Rilla of Ingleside
9. Chronicles of Avonlea
10. Further Chronicles of Avonlea

Yep, Anne had more than enough time to settle down and start a family with Gilbert, the man that she's been in love with for as long as she can remember. But, the idyllic family life is a bit shattered when Mary Maria, Gil's aunt, comes to visit. She was supposed to stay for two weeks but ends up "terrorizing" the fam for months... Anne of Ingleside is a wonderful historical romance that talks about love, dedication, faith and all those simple things that make up our day-to-day lives.

In our online library, you can download books for free in epub, fb2, mobi, lit, pdf, DjVu formats. You could not download modern and audio books, but the ebooks with expired copyright only