Mr. L. Frank Baum wrote 14 novels in the Oz universe, and The Tin Woodman of Oz is the 12th installment in the series. The story begins slowly and opens with Woodman enjoying the company of the Scarecrow: they're entertaining each other with all kinds of wild stories in the Winkie Country, and that's when Woot comes in.

He's pretty far from his native Gillikin country, and, after they give him something to eat and some time to rest, he begins to ask all kinds of questions, including how the Woodman feels about himself being a piece of tin. The thing is - the Wicked Witch used magic on his axe and forced him to cut his own body into several separate parts. That was her punishment for Woodman's love towards Nimmie, her ward.

Next, every part was carefully replaced by something made of tin. Now, the man didn't die, as nobody can die in the Land of Oz, but he did turn into the tinman. And, his heart had been missing - without it, he thought that he could never love the girl of his dreams, so, he left. Dorothy found him half-rusted in the forest and asked the Wizard to give the poor fella a real heart.

Land of Oz works:
1. The Wonderful Wizard of Oz (1900)
2. The Marvelous Land of Oz (1904)
3. Ozma of Oz (1907)
4. Dorothy and the Wizard in Oz (1908)
5. The Road to Oz (1909)
6. The Emerald City of Oz (1910)
7. The Patchwork Girl of Oz (1913)
8. Tik-Tok of Oz (1914)
9. The Scarecrow of Oz (1915)
10. Rinkitink in Oz (1916)
11. The Lost Princess of Oz (1917)
12. The Tin Woodman of Oz (1918)
13. The Magic of Oz (1919, posthumously published)
14. Glinda of Oz (1920, posthumously published)

The boy argues that even though the heart did turn Woodman into a kind person, it didn't give him the ability to love, because if that wasn't true, Nimmie would be by his side right now. Woot's words stun and inspire Tin to embark on a journey towards the Munchkin Country and win her heart back. So, the trio travels into the Gillikin Country, where they hope to find the girl and persuade her to let Tin Woodman back into her heart. The Tin Woodman of Oz is a good-hearted, moving and inspiring children's novel that will be a great read both for the kids and the parents.

In our online library, you can download books for free in epub, fb2, mobi, lit, pdf, DjVu formats. You could not download modern and audio books, but the ebooks with expired copyright only