Tradition wears a snowy beard, romance is always young

Rousseau and Romanticism

Irving Babbitt

 Author, In the early 1890s that he first allied himself with Paul Elmer More in developing the core doctrines that were to constitute what he called the "New Humanism". In 1895 he gave a lecture What is Humanism?, which announced his attack on...

Ten Years Later

Alexander Dumas

The Vicomte of Bragelonne: Ten Years Later is a novel by Alexandre Dumas. It is the third and last of The d'Artagnan Romances, following The Three Musketeers and Twenty Years After. It appeared first in serial form between 1847 and 1850  

Northanger Abbey

Jane Austen

  Northanger Abbey is a newcomer novel and satire of Jane Austen's Gothic novels. It was completed for publication in 1803 and was the first of Austen's novels in order of completion, but was published posthumously in 1817 with another novel, P...

Wuthering Heights

Emily Brontë

Wuthering Heights is a novel by Emily Brontë published in 1847 under her pseudonym "Ellis Bell". It is her only finished novel. Wuthering Heights and Anne Brontë's Agnes Grey were accepted by publisher Thomas Newby before the success of her...

The War of the Worlds

Herbert George Wells

The War of the Worlds is a science fiction novel by English author H. G. Wells, first serialised in 1897 by Pearson's Magazine in the UK and by Cosmopolitan magazine in the US. The novel's first appearance in hardcover was in 1898 from publisher Will...


Bernard Shaw

Pygmalion is a play by George Bernard Shaw, named after a Greek mythological figure. It was first presented on stage to the public in 1913. In ancient Greek mythology, Pygmalion fell in love with one of his sculptures, which then came to life.


Jane Austen

Anne Elliot has a happy relationship with sea captain Frederick Wentmorth and they get engaged. However, the woman's friend Lady Russell thinks the relationship is extremely inappropriate and spoils it. This separation creates a deep loneliness and r...


Jane Austen

Emma Woodhouse is one of the most captivating and vibrant personages of Austen. Beautiful, affluent, ambitious and irrepressibly funny, Emma arranges the lives of her sleepy little village 's inhabitants and plays matchmaker with disastrous impact.

Madame Bovary

Gustave Flaubert

Emma Bovary is beautiful and bored, caught in her marriage to a unremarkable specialist and smothered by the triviality of common life. An enthusiastic devourer of nostalgic books, she yearns for energy and looks for elude in fantasies of tall sentim...

Anna Karenina

Lev Tolstoy

Acclaimed by numerous as the world's most noteworthy novel, Anna Karenina gives a endless scene of modern life in Russia and of humankind in common. In it Tolstoy employments his strongly inventive knowledge to make a few of the foremost memorable ch...